to the

Vancouver Mini Club

Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

Upcoming Events

Well Hung Minis

by Zoran Ursic

My name is Zoran Ursic (from Urban Legend Contracting) and I am the builder of the Well Hung Minis (in the white T-shirt). 

I am a tile contractor by day, and I used to own a 65 Woody Wagon. I've also tinkered with a lot of cars in my time. Nigel (the designer) and I got talking about Minis and he thought it would be great to put them up so they look like they are driving on the wall. So really, the idea to hang the Minis came from Nigel Walker & Associates (in North Van). The roadway for them to drive on will be painted on the wall sometime after.  

The engineers were CTA (in Vancouver). The cars came from 3 different places: The 1st came from Annex Autowrecking in Naniamo - he happened to have about 20 Minis there and while I was over there I heard there were more Minis at a wrecker near Parksville (I didn't get a chance to check it out though). The 2nd one came from Wolfgang at the end of Scott Road, underneath the Sky Train in Surrey - he had shelves full of Mini parts outside. The 3rd came from Coast Import on Mitchell Island. They were very helpful with trim parts.  

The bumpers came from Craig's Automotive in Port Coquitlam. All 3 cars were rusted out shells with no windows or running gear. They were taken to Protech Welding on Pemberton Ave in North Van and Phil welded frames to mount the cars onto the wall. We welded wheels to the bottom of the frame so it would be easier to wheel them on and off the flatdeck truck and around the body shop.